Dublin prove too strong for Kerry to win 25th All-Ireland title

Dublin are All-Ireland SFC Champions for the third time in five years as the Dubs proved to strong for 2014 winners Kerry to secure a three-point win and bring the Sam Maguire cup back to the capital.

It was not the best of conditions at Croke Park and the rain did have some effect on the gameplay but ultimately the strength and determination from Jim Gavin’s men was enough for Dublin to regain the Al-Ireland with a 0-12 to 0-09 victory.

Dublin won the All-Ireland for the third time in five years image: rte.ie

Dublin won the All-Ireland for the third time in five years
image: rte.ie

Dublin came out of the block’s early with Dean Rock scoring the first point inside the first 15 seconds but Kerry kept in touch with the game tied at 0-03 each on 20 minutes.

Dublin then began to find a rhythm with defenders James McCarthy and Philly McMahon getting their names on the score sheet before Paddy Andrews gave Dublin a four point cushion heading into half-time.

A below-par Kerry were lucky not to go into the break further down with Dean Rock, Brian Fenton and Paddy Andrews spurning great goal chances for the Dubs.

Darran O’Sullivan came on the score 0-02 but two points was the closest the 2014 champions got to Dublin with Cian O’Sullivan and Jonny Cooper brilliantly leading the Dublin defence with some crucial blocks.

Kerry struggled against the determined Dublin defence but Killian Young missed a great goal opportunity late on after being set up nicely by substitute Kieran Donaghy, which would have seen The Kingdom come back level.

However, substitute Alan Brogan brought Dublin’s advantage back to four and while a Bryan Sheehan free brought Kerry back to within a goal, there was not enough time for Kerry to come back as Dublin held on to win the All-Ireland title for a 25th time.

Kerry never really found a rhythm in front a packed house at Croke Park but while the credit always goes to Dublin’s attack, all the plaudits from this one must go to the hard-working Dublin defence who kept Kerry’s forwards quiet for most of the game.

It was a deserved victory for Dublin who carry a unique statistic of winning All-Ireland championships every second year (2011, 2013, 2015), so it will be interesting to see whether Dublin can retain the title next year or will the trend continue.

Leave a comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s