My WrestleMania Experience: Axxess, Hall of Fame, NXT, Raw and WrestleMania

On 31 March 2016, I began my journey to my first ever WrestleMania in Dallas, Texas and after taking in the likes of WrestleMania Axxess, NXT Takeover, Hall of Fame, Raw and of course, WrestleMania, here are the highs and lows of my WrestleMania experience.

01/04/16 – WrestleMania Axxess

After spending a day travelling over for the showcase of immortals, my WrestleMania experience began with WrestleMania Axxess with the 5pm session on Friday afternoon.

There is so much on display from a memorabilia section, to different photo opportunities with Undertaker’s stuff and at an announcers desk; there was a lot to take in.

DSC_0132

Most of superstar signings were not great with the likes of Alicia Fox, Jack Swagger and The Uso’s among the superstars you got to meet and greet.

The only superstar I bothered lining up for was Braun Strowman. However, I did not know that each superstar only does two hours and changes mid way through the session, so I didn’t actually get to meet him.

Eva Marie and Summer Rae took his place, so my brother and I were outta there as were a number of other people too. Even with the switches, there was no one worth queuing up for so I had a look around at the other stuff.

I had a look in the memorabilia section with a plenty of cool stuff on display from Andre the Giant, Ultimate Warrior and Dusty Rhodes statues to ring gear and even J&J Security’s car door than Brock Lesnar smashed up.

There were also some NXT exhibition matches going on and I also watched the Sheamus Q&A. It was a good start but I was disappointed there was no one decent you could get an autograph from.

01/04/16 – NXT Takover: Dallas

Right next door to Axxess, my brother and I headed over to NXT Takeover: Dallas. The show began with a brilliant Tag Team match as American Alpha defeated Dash and Wilder to become new NXT Tag Team Champions.

The crowd was very much behind Jason Jordan and Chad Gable and in my opinion, these lads deserve it. They are young, hungry and have an amateur background. I was delighted with the start to the show.

DSC_0204

Austin Aries predictably defeated Baron Corbin in a good match but compared to the standard of the other matches on the night, it was a little boring.

Shinsuke Nakamura’s NXT debut got off to a winning start as the Japan star came out to the biggest pop of the night and put on a brilliant match of the night defeating Sami Zayn.

Nakamura’s fellow compatriot Asuka stunned the Dallas crowd as she dethroned Bayley to become new NXT Women’s Champion as Bayley passed out to the sleeper hold much to the disappointment of the fans.

The main event between Finn Balor and Samoa Joe was hampered by an early cut to Samoa Joe as he would need constant assistance from the doctor much to the anger of those watching on.

They still put on a great match but it was obvious Joe was struggling.  I was expecting Balor to lose the title so I was obviously glad when he hit Coup de Grace to retain the NXT Championship.

It was a great show, the crowd were well pumped up for it and you know that you can always rely on NXT Takeover to put on a great display of pure wrestling.

Leave a comment

